Warped Tour 2017

Photo Jul 09, 12 57 17 PMPhoto Jul 09, 12 00 23 PMPhoto Jul 09, 6 02 43 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s been a while since my last post, but this summer has been full of music and I’m back! Recently, I have been discovering tons of new music from Spotify, Alternative Press, and bands I see on Instagram. However, last Sunday I discovered several bands whose music I have not stopped listening too since. Last Sunday, Vans Warped Tour was set up in Hartford, CT at the Xfinity Theater and it was amazing. Although some of my favorites were there such as Neck Deep and Andy Black, I walked away with some new favorites. After walking around and seeing all the different tents, the first band I saw was New Years Day. I have never been an avid of listener of New Years Day, but after watching them live and seeing the passion that front-woman, Ash Costello, sings with, I can now say I am a fan. The hard-rock sounds of New Years Day are thunderous and melodic, and watching them live is truly an experience. The band is extremely passionate and are a thrill to watch. The band also engages with the crowd which allows for a connection between the fans and the band. I could not sit still while watching New Years Day and am happy to have seen them live. The other band that truly left me wanting to discover more of their music was post-hardcore band Too Close To Touch. Some of my friends had been watching their set so naturally I joined them. Frontman Keaton Pierce was putting on quite the show and the entire crowd was engaged. After listening to a few of their songs I knew this was a band I needed to learn more about.At the end of the set, the band performed the first song off of their latest album, (“Sympathy” from Haven’t Been Myself, released in 2016). This song made me stop and really listen and needless to say, it moved me. Pierce’s tenor voice starts off soft and melodic progresses into hardcore screaming and perfectly captures post-hardcore vibes. Too Close To Touch is now one of my new favorite bands and I am happy to have stumbled upon their set. Warped Tour was an awesome tour, not just because of the music, but because of the people that are there. Everyone is there to enjoy the music and have a great time, and my experience was nothing short of that. Warped Tour 2017 was amazing and I cannot wait to go back next year!

Leave a Reply

