Pink Floyd

zbvepzvfcq3gytzkjiqh

“I’ll see you on the dark side of the moon”…These lyrics come from one of my favorite classic rock bands of all time-Pink Floyd. Although I was born in the 90’s and was not around for the height of classic rock bands, I have learned about the history of rock music and have listened to more bands than I can name. That being said, I rank Pink Floyd as one of my all time favorites. Pink Floyd, which was composed of David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Richard Wright, and Nick Mason, were an instrumental part of the creation of the psychedelic rock music era. Pink Floyd was not looking for commercial fame, rather they were simply experimenting with sound. They did not expect their music to go far and gain radio success, however, they did. Pink Floyd was a concept band, meaning their albums had a theme. My personal favorite is Dark Side of the Moon, which was released in 1973. This album is by far one of my favorite albums of all time. The concept of this album is madness and this theme can be heard throughout the entire album, especially in songs like “Brain Damage” and  “Eclipse”. This album tells a story  (in a way) because each song leads into another. The psychedelic music era was spawned by various different artists such as The Grateful Dead, The Doors, and the Byrds, which all rank as some of my favorite classic rock bands. Psychedelic rock is one of my favorite sub-genres that branched off of rock and it is still relevant today. Today there are neo-psychedelic bands such as Tame Impala and Temples which have carried on those psychedelic roots and have created a modern twist. I feel that Pink Floyd captures the essence of psychedelic rock. They are also inspiring because they were not looking for fame and success. Instead, they were experimenting with sound for the sake of music, and that is what music should be about-enjoyment and creation over fame and fortune. Dark Side of the Moon and The Wall (’79)are my favorite albums by Pink Floyd and I have both of these albums on vinyl. There is nothing like listening to “Comfortably Numb” from The Wall or “Money” from Dark Side on vinyl. For people who may not know much on Pink Floyd, I suggest sampling some songs on Dark Side.

One thought on “Pink Floyd

  1. As a Pink Floyd nut a person should sample a little more then DSOTM but that record is Floyd at there best. A person can learn so much on how the band progressed thru out the years and never followed any “main stream” type music. That is what made them so great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

